Tuesday, February 27, 2024

Tribunal sacks NNPP’s Abba Kabir, Declares APC’s Nasiru Gawuna as new Kano Gov

The Kano Governorship Election Petition Tribunal has invalidated Abba Kabir Yusuf’s victory as the Governor, declaring Nasiru Gawuna of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as the new winner of the March 18 election.

Yusuf, who ran under the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), initially won according to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

However, following petitions, the tribunal revoked Yusuf’s certificate of return and directed INEC to issue one to Gawuna.

The tribunal ruled that 165,663 votes from Yusuf’s total were invalid due to unstamped or unsigned ballot papers.

This decision comes six months after Gawuna had accepted defeat, emphasizing his commitment to the election’s outcome.

More from author

- Advertisment -spot_img