Senate confirms INEC National Commissioners, REC

The Senate on Wednesday confirmed the National Commissioners and Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC) for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded the list of the nominees to the Senate for confirmation on December 17 last year.

The nominees were confirmed following the consideration of a report presented by the Chairman of the Senate Committee on INEC, Kabiru Gaya, at the plenary.

Six nominees – Sam Olumekun (Ondo), Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu (Delta), Prof. Rhoda H. Gumus (Bayelsa), Major Gen. A. B. Alkali (Adamawa), Ukeagu Kenneth Nnamdi (Abia), and Mohammed Haruna (Niger) were confirmed as National Commissioners while Olaniyi Olaleye Ijalaye (Ondo) got the lawmakers’ nod as REC.

Chairman of the Senate Committee on INEC, Kabiru Gaya, said the confirmation of the nominees followed request by President Buhari in compliance with the provision of Section 153(1)(f) of the 1999 Constitution.

In his remarks, the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, congratulated the nominees and charged them to brace up for the task ahead.

He stated that the 2023 general elections would be a “baptism of fire” for the nominees.

Lawan said: “The nominees will have a baptism of fire because 2023 is just by the corner.”

“The elections are before us as INEC may soon announce the dates of elections, We expect nothing less than excellence from the commission.” He added.

Sho pen online

SHO PEN ONLINE is an Online media, with a Special Focus on Event Publicity. Our services are : News Publishing, Red Carpet & Event Coverage, Media Training, Public Relations and Advertising.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button