Buhari bids farewell to Malami, Amaechi, Ngige, Others outgoing ministers

President Muhamadu Buhari on Friday morning played host to eight of his outgoing Ministers with political ambitions whom he ordered to resign in time for the next general elections in 2023.

Tolu Ogunlesi, Special Assistant on Digital/New Media to President Buhari, who posted the event on his Twitter handle, said the ministers present at the breakfast cum send off event included Ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, and Women Affairs, Paullen Tallen.

Others were Abubakar Malami, Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, Ogbonnaya Onu, Minister of Science and Technology, Tayo Alasoadura, Minister of State for Niger Delta, Uche Ogar, Mines and Steel, Emeka Nwajiuba, Minister of State for Education and the Minister of State for Petroleum, Timipre Sylva.

On Wednesday during the Federal Executive Council meeting held at the Presidential Villa in Abuja, Buhari had ordered any of his ministers and political appointees who had interest in running for political positions in 2023 to resign on or before Monday, May 16.

In a statement after the meeting, Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, said Buhari had directed any “cabinet member or appointeee who is interested in running for elective offices should submit their letters of resignation on or before Monday, May 16, 2022.”

Sho pen online

SHO PEN ONLINE is an Online media, with a Special Focus on Event Publicity. Our services are : News Publishing, Red Carpet & Event Coverage, Media Training, Public Relations and Advertising.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button