APC Presidential Primary : Governors Submit Names Of Five Aspirants To Buhari

Governors elected on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have reportedly submitted the names of five presidential aspirants to President Muhammadu Buhari ahead of the party’s presidential primary today (Tuesday).

President Buhari is expected to select a consensus candidate from the list of names submitted to him.

A source that spoke with Daily Trust disclosed that the Progressives Governors Forum submitted the names in the early hours of Tuesday.

According to the source, the names included are Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, former governor of Lagos State, Bola Tinubu, Governor Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti State), Rotimi Amaechi, former Minister of Transportation, and Governor David Umahi (Ebonyi State).

The governors after meeting with the President on Monday had promised to return to the villa after their meeting with the party’s National Working Committee(NWC) and other stakeholders.

The source said, “They picked one from South-East, one from South-South and three from South-West geopolitical zones in line with their position that power should shift to the South.”

He added that the president is expected to pick from the list.

The ruling party would hope to pick a presidential candidate that can compete with the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Atiku Abubakar, Labour Party Candidate, Peter Obi and others

Sho pen online

SHO PEN ONLINE is an Online media, with a Special Focus on Event Publicity. Our services are : News Publishing, Red Carpet & Event Coverage, Media Training, Public Relations and Advertising.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button